THE LATEST LIE DETECTOR 2.0

pinocchioLying is great. Obviously, it didn’t turn out too well with the lady who swallowed the horse, but other than her situation, lying is fun…in the moment. I do, however, feel about lying the way I feel about hats. They may work for other people, but I just can’t pull them off.

It was Sunday, and it is a time to celebrate brunch and a contest to see who can stay in their pajamas the longest. While I was scheduled to be somewhere, I opted out, taking one arrow (white lie) out of my quiver and get out of this “engagement” by saying that I had a “previously schedule engagement,” which is obviously rewatching last night’s episode of Saturday Night Live while wiping the Reddi Whip off my mouth. With my Sunday routine already in progress, I figure that it was an Instagram moment– you know that moment when the sun hits your window in the right spot and you realize that you are a product of technology, so you snap a pic in Lo-Fi.

On some level, I agree with what our parents are telling us, that social media is making us more disconnected and less empathetic. We’ve heard what you had to say, Louis C.K., one of today’s most successful and critically-acclaimed comedians, we get it. If we are to get anything positive as a society from social networking, it is catching lies. Lying is as popular as the puppies you see on the popular page of Instagram. Tweeting your flu symptoms or Vining your #OOTD is just a reflex, but your social network has become a time capsule for everything.

You do not need a lie detector, you need to login to Facebook.

So when the person you cancelled a meeting with “likes” the Instagram you took of yourself with whipped cream all over your face, it just means that you have become a more honest human being.

signout

P.S. Little did I know, after writing this post, I found a TED Talk explaining precisely what I’m getting at…in a way that I’ll never accomplish…because of course, it’s a TED Talk.

One thought on “THE LATEST LIE DETECTOR 2.0

  1. This is so true, no one really thinks about the implications of posting on facebook, twitter etc, we forget it gets published to the world for one and all to see! I’m guilty of cancelling and just sitting there in my pj’s wasting away an evening, but I think I’d be clever enough to not stick it on facebook… well hopefully anyway

    Please come check out my latest post if you have time 🙂

    Fragile Bird | http://www.fragile-bird.blogspot.co.uk

    Helen

    x

Tell me what you think!

