NEW HAIR, NO HAIR, NEVER AGAIN!

Pixie Cuts Galore

There is a chair out there that I dread more than the electric chair itself. I have never had a good experience in that chair, and it has somehow scarred me for life. As far back as I can remember, I always left it crying, sometimes even sobbing. It is the ever so ominous chair at the hair salon.

For the past four years, I have had the same haircut at the same salon once a year. I should note, and not to brag, that I don’t blow dry, straighten, or curl my hair, so it has been relatively healthy my whole life. You think that’s a good thing. You don’t know how jealous my perfectly pin-straight, thick, Asian hair is of your curly, dry, split ends. My hair is like liquid. I try to do one style to it, but it just reverts back to its natural state: bor-ing.

Still after every horrible haircut experience, I have always wanted my Princess-Mia-takes-off-her-hat moment. It has yet to happen. Growing up watching movies where the nerd takes off her glasses at prom and everyone realizes how hot she is, didn’t make it easier on the pressure I felt every time I visited the salon. (Those movies made me want glasses, too. Unfortunately, I have 20/20 vision.)

Every woman has a fantasy of what it would be like to completely chop off all her hair. Will I end up looking like a 12-year-old boy? Or will everyone notice my cheekbones like Natalie Portman? In shows or movies, getting a pixie cut usually signifies a change of heart or utter disaster, almost a terrible impulse decision. You’ll be utterly and inevitably criticized for the new do, but in the end we all just wanted to be like the nerds in the makeover movies.

So last week, I revisited the chair and got the long bob. I didn’t go Miley Cyrus crazy, but I feel a style change coming. I feel surprisingly good. I guess the only way to feel good about a haircut is to just not look in the mirror and realize that we will never look like Beyonce.

When it comes to haircuts, instead of feeling like Princess Mia in Princess Diaries, I am inevitably feeling Fantine in Les Miserables.

How I Feel About Haircuts

How do you feel about haircuts?

signout

4 thoughts on “NEW HAIR, NO HAIR, NEVER AGAIN!

  1. I definitely feel the same way about haircuts! I’ve had long hair pretty much my entire life with the exception of my sophomore year of high school and a few awkward years afterwords. I went to get my hair cut and it went from being almost at my waist to just barely touching my shoulders and I was beyond mortified. Luckily, it’s grown back out and is much better looking than it was, but whenever I see photos from that year, I always cringe. I’m planning on making a big cut soon, but am so nervous!

    Melanie
    http://www.laceandcombatboots.com

Tell me what you think!

