MY STATIC RELATIONSHIP WITH TV

0923_emmys_001

I was the one who said, “Sorry, I don’t watch TV,” way before it was cool. I didn’t have Cable TV growing up. With now being the prime time of Cable TV & the hour-long drama, I think this is God’s way of making up for the lost time. As Mindy Kaling once said, I have a relationship with television in that I grew up not watching it. Dozens of documents and unread emails piling up are the fault of unwatched episodes. So long, life. I’m keeping up with the characters.

Summer mode means catching up on personal work, work that needed to be delayed because of school. It turns out, my life for the past couple of months has been very much like that episode of Portlandia. I keep track of time in terms of episodes instead of hours. I keep tracks of weeks in terms of the TV series. It’s time to return to real life…if I still remember what that is.

In May, I binge-watched all six seasons of Mad Men. After watching the finale and finally escaping my house, I felt like I lived Plato’s Allegory of the Cave. The world being a bright light unknown to me, and the only safe place I knew was in Sally Draper’s sassy quips.

I try to reason with myself as to why I need to keep watching…why we all keep watching. I say it’s “research” for my coming-of-age romantic dramedy hour-long series that is my life. I suppose we love to watch fictional characters because they’re more twisted than we are. Speak for yourself, Jessica. Isn’t that the reason that America is so fascinated with the Kardashians? Maybe Kim and her friends are all pulling a classic Lonelygirl15 on us (remember her?), and it’s all an illusion!

Then here we are with Netflix making a bold zig-zag snap to Cable TV. Already a contender at the Emmy’s with House of Cards (with its hilarious protagonist’s “asides”), it produces Orange is the New Black. TV gods, you’re doing a lot for the unemployed. Because of Netflix, I finally have an answer to “What would you do if you had one week to live?” Ironically, a copy of Hemingway’s The Sun Also Rises sits on my bedside table. Staring at me.

signout

 

 

 

 

P.S. Why are we obsessed with television? What’s missing from television now?

 

Tell me what you think!

